Kermode and Mayo's Film Review

de BBC

Mark Kermode joins Simon Mayo to give his verdict on the week's movies

Episodios

Jeymes Samuels & Regina King, No Sudden Move, The Addams Family 2 and Deadly Cuts.

por BBC

Jeymes Samuel and Regina King talk about their new Western, The Harder They Fall. Plus we have reviews of Claudia Llosa’s Fever Dream; animation The Addams Family 2, a sequel to the 2019 animated film, in which The Addams get tangled up in more wacky adventures and find themselves involved in hilarious run-ins with all sorts of unsuspecting characters; John and the Hole, a coming-of-age psychological thriller; black comedy Deadly Cuts, set in a working-class Dublin hair salon; drama My Little Sister; Romantic Road, a documentary about a leading London lawyer and his wife who motor across rural India in their battered 1936 Rolls-Royce; documentary Pier Kids, about about the gay and transgender youth who congregate around Manhattan’s Chelsea Piers; and Steven Soderbergh’s No Sudden Move, which stars Don Cheadle, Benicio Del Toro and David Harbour, about a group of criminals who are brought together under mysterious circumstances. Mark and Simon also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub-20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 09.42: CORRESPONDENCE 31.26: CELEBRATING CINEMA 34.00: BOX OFFICE TOP TEN / LAST WEEK 53.11: John and the Hole 57.56: Jeymes and Regina 01.14.45: No Sudden Move 01.18.56: Bond emails 01.26.55: WTF 1 01.33.03: Deadly Cuts 01.36.22: TV MOVIES OF THE WEEK 01.40.50: My Little Sister 01.43.17: WTF 2 01.44.57: The Addams Family 2 01.49.00: Fever Dream 01.51.36: LAST EVER FOOD AND DRINK IN FILMS 01.57.13: Pier Kids 02.05.36: Romantic Road 02.09.25: DVD OF THE WEEK

Ridley Scott and Jodie Comer, Anne at 13000 ft, Next Door and No Time to Die

por BBC

Ridley Scott and Jodie Comer talk about their new film The Last Duel , about King Charles VI declaring that Knight Jean de Carrouges should settle his dispute with his squire by challenging him to a duel. Plus we have reviews of Next Door, Daniel Brühl’s film exploring the subject of gentrification and social inequality in Berlin; Freakscene: The Story of Dinosaur Jr., which tells the story of one of the most influential bands on the American East Coast, who inspired the rock scene; Redemption of a Rogue, a black comedy about a prodigal son returning to his hometown to seek salvation for his sins; Christopher Walken in Percy v Goliath, about a Canadian farmer who takes on a giant corporation after their GMOs interfere with his crops; Anne at 13000 ft, about a volatile young woman challenged by everyday social and professional encounters; No Time to Die, about a retired secret service agent who is called back into action; Freshman, about a lonely college fresher who forges a strong connection with his resident assistant during a fraternity party; and European animation Even Mice Belong in Heaven, about two mortal enemies - a little Mouse and a Fox, who after an unfortunate accident, meet in animal heaven. And we’ll be attempting to solve those maddening movies you half-remember from years ago in WTF - What’s That Film. Mark and Simon also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. . Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Michael Gandolfini, The Many Saints of Newark

por BBC

Mark and Simon’s guest is Michael Gandolfini, who’s talking about his film The Many Saints of Newark, the Sopranos prequel. Plus we have reviews of The Green Knight, David Lowery’s fantasy retelling of the medieval story of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, starring Dev Patel and Alicia Vikander; The Alpinist, about the climber Marc-André Leclerc; documentary Oasis Knebworth 1996, about the band’s two concerts in August 1996, when 250,000 fans converged on Knebworth Park ; Balloon, about a family’s struggles against the conflicting dictates of nature, spirituality, politics, and free will; Sweetheart, about a socially awkward, environmentally conscious teenager who is dragged to a coastal holiday park by her painfully 'normal' family, where she becomes unexpectedly captivated by a chlorine smelling, sun-loving lifeguard named Isla; Gagarine, about a boy who fights to save his home town - which he shares with his namesake, Yuri Gagarin - from demolition; and Mark takes another look at David Lynch’s 1984 film Dune. And we’ll be attempting to solve those maddening movies you half-remember from years ago in WTF - What’s That Film. Mark and Simon also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. . Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 05.00: Correspondence 19.53: Welcome 27.17: Celebrating Cinema 29.04: Box Office Top Ten 44.57: The Alpinist review 49.58: Michael Gandolfini interview 01.03.19: The Many Saints of Newark review 01.09.55: WTF 1 01.14.35: Oasis Knebworth 1996 01.21.32: TV Movie of the Week 01.26.30: The Green Knight review 01.32.10: Balloon review 01.34.39: WTF 2 01.41.00: Sweetheart 01.45.07: Food and Drink in film 01.50.14: Gagarine 01.54.00: Dune 02.02.25: DVD of the Week

Luke Wilson, 12 Mighty Orphans, Gunpowder Milkshake, The Starling and Everybody’s Talking About Jamie.

por BBC

Mark and Simon’s guest is Luke Wilson, who stars in depression-era sports drama 12 Mighty Orphans. Plus we have reviews of Mandibles, about simple-minded friends Jean-Gab and Manu who find a giant fly trapped in the boot of a car, and decide to train it in the hope of making their fortune; Fauci, a glimpse into the life of infectious disease specialist, Dr. Anthony Fauci who has led the U.S. fight against every epidemic the country has faced from AIDS to SARS to Ebola, and of course COVID-19; Gunpowder Milkshake, about three generations of women who fight back against those who could take everything from them, starring Karen Gillan and Lena Headey; The Starling, starring Melissa McCarthy and Timothy Olyphant; musical adaptation Everybody’s Talking About Jamie, about a teenager from Sheffield who wants to be a drag queen; Nic Cage’s Prisoners of the Ghostland about a sadistic gang leader who is imprisoned and volunteers for a conduct-aversion experiment; and Mark reviews Stanley Kubrick’s A Clockwork Orange, which is re-released this week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 00:25:31 Box Office Top 10 00:46:14 Gunpowder Milkshake Review 00:53:09 12 Mighty Orphans Luke Wilson Interview 01:07:16 12 Mighty Orphans Review 01:11:23 WTF 01:15:55 Rose Plays Julie Review 01:25:52 The Starling Interview 01:29:13 Mandibles Review 01:32:02 A Clockwork Orange Reissue Review 01:43:34 Prisoners of the Ghostland 01:51:03 Fauci Review 01:56:00 Everybody’s Talking About Jamie Review

Jennifer Hudson, Respect, Herself, Copshop and The Voyeurs

por BBC

Mark and Simon’s guest is Jennifer Hudson, who talks to us about her role as Aretha Franklin in Respect, which tells the story of the icon’s career from a child singing in her father's church's choir, to her international superstardom. Plus we have reviews of Herself, Phyllida Lloyd’s film about a young mother who escapes her abusive husband and fights back against a broken housing system; First World War drama The War Below about a group of British miners who are recruited to tunnel underneath no man's land in the hope of breaking a deadly stalemate; The Collini Case, about a young lawyer who stumbles upon a vast conspiracy while investigating a brutal murder case; Copshop, about a cunning con artist on the run from a lethal assassin; The Voyeurs, starring Sydney Sweeney; Sweet Thing, about two siblings and their struggle to find solid ground in the homes of their alcoholic father and negligent mother. And classic drama The Servant is reissued. Plus we’ll be attempting to solve those maddening movies you half-remember from years ago in WTF - What’s That Film. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 00:22:13 Box Office Top 10 00:46:11 The Collini Case Review 00:49:32 Respect Clip / Jennifer Hudson Interview 01:02:48 Respect Review 01:18:49 Herself Review 01:24:30 TV Movie of the Week 01:29:20 The Voyeurs Review 01:32:53 Ninjababy Review 01:35:38 The War Below Review 01:44:54 Copshop Review 01:55:08 The Servant Review

Phyllida Lloyd, Shang Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings and Here Today

por BBC

Mark and Simon’s guests are director Phyllida Lloyd and producer Sharon Horgan, who talk about their new film Herself, about a young mother who escapes her abusive husband and fights back against a broken housing system. Mark reviews Leos Carax’s collaboration with Ron and Russell Mael of Sparks, Annette; Misha and the Wolves, the story of a woman whose holocaust memoir took the world by storm; Marvel’s Shang Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, about the master of unarmed weaponry-based Kung Fu, who is forced to confront his past after being drawn into the Ten Rings organization; drama The Champion of Auschwitz, the story of the pre-war boxing champion Tadeusz "Teddy" Pietrzykowski, who in 1940 arrives with the first transport of prisoners to the newly created concentration camp; Here Today, Billy Crystal’s comedy drama about a veteran comedy writer who meets a New York street singer; Wildfire, the story of two sisters who grew up on the fractious Irish border; and Kay Cannon’s modern take on Cinderella. Plus we’ll be attempting to solve those maddening movies you half-remember from years ago in WTF - What’s That Film. Mark and Simon also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 03.44- Correspondence 16.34- Welcome 20.20- Celebrating Cinema 24.36- Box Office Top Ten 37.10- WTF 43.45- Shang-Chi review 49.33- Herself, interview with Phyllida Lloyd 1.02.01- Cinderella review 1.08.10- WTF 1.11.30- Annette 1.18.30- TV Movies of the Week 1.22.50- Here Today review 1.28.35- Correspondence 1.33.00- WTF 1.34.35- Wildfire review 1.44.10- Misha and the Wolves review 1.49.37- Champion of Auschwitz review 1.53.30- Correspondence 1.58.13- DVD of the week

Timothy Spall, The Last Bus, Candyman, The Toll and Our Ladies

por BBC

Actor Rufus Jones guest presents this week alongside regular supersub Anna Bogutskaya. Anna reviews Candyman, which is a direct sequel to the 1992 horror Candyman; Our Ladies, about a group of Catholic schoolgirls in 1990s Scotland; The Nest, starring Jude’Law, about an entrepreneur and his American family whose life begins to take a twisted turn after moving into an English country manor; darkly comic thriller The Toll, which stars Michael Smiley and Iwan Rheon; Souad, Ayten Amin’s film about two teenage sisters in Egypt's Nile Delta; Demonic, which is about a young woman who unleashes terrifying demons when supernatural forces are ruthlessly revealed, and The Last bus, which stars this week’s guest Timothy Spall. Plus we’ll be attempting to solve those maddening movies you half-remember from years ago in WTF - What’s That Film. Rufus and Anna also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. . Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 27th August: 12.10- Correspondence 25.15- Welcome 29.30- Box Office top ten 51.40- Soad Review 1.00.01- Tim Spall and The Last Bus review 1.16.16- Our Ladies Review 1.24.52- TV Movie of the Week 1.30.16- TV Movies of the Week, so bad it’s bad! 1.34.53- The Toll review 1.41.23- Candyman review 1.52.13- Demonic review 1.58.30- The Nest 2.05.25- DVD of the Week

Kurupt FM, Niamh Algar and Prano Bailey-Bond

por BBC

Ali and Robbie interview the cast of Kurupt FM about the new documentary, following their ill-fated trip to Tokyo - People Just Do Nothing: Big In Japan. Ali also talks to the star and director of new horror chiller, Censor - Niamh Algar and Prano Bailey-Bond. The film follows the story of Enid, a British film censor, who links a disturbing horror movie to the mysterious disappearance of her sister. Robbie and Ali also review Nicolas Cage in Pig, about a truffle hunter who returns home looking for his beloved pig; Reminiscence , about a scientist who discovers a way to relive the past using technology to search for his long lost love; David Bruckner's The Night House, a spooky new horror starring Rebecca Hall; and Henry Golding in Snake Eyes: GI Joe Origins, the latest of this superhero franchise. What’s That Film continues, in which your mysterious half-remembered films are (hopefully) identified. Ali and Robbie also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Ryan Reynolds, Free Guy, The Courier, Wendy and I’m Your Man

por BBC

Ali and Robbie’s guest this week is Ryan Reynolds, who talks about his role as a bank cashier who discovers that he's actually inside a brutal, open world video game in Free Guy. Robbie and Ali also review Benedict Cumberbatch in The Courier, about Cold War spy Greville Wynne trying to put an end to the Cuban Missile Crisis; Coda, about Ruby, who is the only hearing person in her deaf family; Beasts of the Southern Wild director Benh Zeitlin’s film Wendy, a reimagining of Peter Pan; Minamata, which stars Johnny Depp as war photographer W. Eugene Smith who travels back to Japan where he documents the devastating effect of mercury poisoning in coastal communities; WeWork: Or the Making and Breaking of a $47 Billion Unicorn, Jed Rothstein’s documentary about the collapse of the office space company; and Dan Stevens in I’m Your Man, about a scientist who in order to obtain research funds for her studies, accepts an offer to participate in an extraordinary experiment. What’s That Film continues, in which your mysterious half-remembered films are (hopefully) identified. Ali and Robbie also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 00:15:34 Box Office Top 10 00:35:03 Minamata review 00:43:54 Ryan Reynolds interview 00:55:38 Free Guy review 00:59:45 The Courier review 01:08:53 TV Movie of the Week 01:12:57 Wendy review 01:18:15 WeWork review 01:33:47 I'm Your Man review 01:41:46 Coda Review

Felicity Jones, The Last Letter from Your Lover, Zola and Stillwater

por BBC

Edith Bowman and Anna Bogutskaya are joined by Felicity Jones, who talks about her new film, romantic drama The Last Letter from Your Lover, in which she stars alongside Shailene Woodley. Anna reviews drama Profile, in which an undercover journalist infiltrates the online propaganda channels of the so-called Islamic State; Stillwater, which stars Matt Damon as a dad who travels from Oklahoma to France to help his estranged daughter, who is in prison for a murder she claims she didn't commit; Zola, a black comedy film based on a viral Twitter thread, in which Taylour Paige plays the titular stripper who is convinced by her new friend (Riley Keough) to travel to Tampa, Florida, in order to earn money, only to get in over her head; Beasts Clawing At Straws, a crime drama in which a struggling restaurant owner, caring for his sick mother, finds a bag of cash in a sauna locker; and reissue Now, Voyager, which stars Bette Davis as a frumpy spinster who blossoms under therapy and becomes an elegant, independent woman; and Boys From County Hell, about a crew of hardy road workers who must survive the night when they accidentally awaken an ancient Irish vampire. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. 00:13:04 WTF? 00:23:40 Box Office Top 10 00:37:27 Profile review 00:42:55 Now, Voyager review 00:47:19 Zola review 00:52:15 Felicity Jones interview 01:06:29 The Last Letter From Your Lover review 01:08:24 Stillwater review 01:12:45 Beasts Clutching at Straws review 01:15:51 Boys From County Hell review 01:22:42 TV Movies of the Week 01:28:25 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Jungle Cruise, Old, Vivo, Space Jam, The Sparks Brothers, The Suicide Squad

por BBC

Mark reviews musical animation Vivo, which features all-new original songs from Lin-Manuel Miranda, The Sparks Brothers, Edgar Wright’s documentary about the seminal band, who were our guests last week; James Gunn’s The Suicide Squad, the ‘spiritual sequel’ to the 2016 film, in which a team of dysfunctional heroes are sent on a dangerous mission; equestrian animation Spirit Untamed, in which a girl goes to live with her father over the summer in a small town, where she befriends a wild mustang stallion; Jungle Cruise, which stars The Rock and Emily Blunt in a film based on Disneyland's theme park ride where a small riverboat takes a group of travellers through a jungle; Limbo, a British comedy drama in which a Syrian musician awaits the result of his asylum application on a remote Scottish island and The Most Beautiful Boy in the World, a documentary about the Swedish actor Björn Andrésen who achieved instant stardom as a teenager in the 1971 film Death in Venice. Plus Mark finally reviews Space Jam and M. Night Shyamalan’s Old. And Mark and Simon’s North American Movie Road Trip concludes with films that best represent Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. 00:11:46 Celebrating Cinema 00:15:09 Box Office Top 10 00:24:21 Old review 00:30:02 Space Jam: A New Legacy review 00:36:27 Ordering Food Scene 00:38:32 Jungle Cruise review 00:43:03 WTF? (What’s That Film?) 00:50:33 Limbo review 00:53:41 Vivo review 00:57:10 Spirit Untamed review 01:01:43 North American Movie Road Trip 01:07:46 The Sparks Brothers review 01:16:10 TV Movies of the Week 01:20:36 The Suicide Squad review 01:26:58 The Most Beautiful Boy in the World review 01:30:08 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Edgar Wright & Sparks, The World to Come, Riders of Justice and Off the Rails

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Edgar Wright & Sparks, who talk about The Sparks Brothers. Mark reviews Vanessa Kirby and Katherine Waterston in period romance The World to Come, about two neighbouring couples along the mid-19th century American East Coast frontier; action drama Riders of Justice, in which Mads Mikklesen plays Markus, who has to go home to his teenage daughter when his wife dies in a tragic train accident; Night of the Kings, about a young man sent to ‘La Maca’, a prison in the Ivory Coast; Werewolves Within, an adaptation of the video game; British comedy Off the Rails; and Bye Bye Morons, Albert Dupontel’s comedy drama about a seriously ill woman who tries to find her long-lost child with the help of a man in the middle of a burnout and a blind archivist. Plus Mark will give his verdict on Space Jam 2: A New Legacy. And Mark and Simon’s North American Movie Road Trip continues into New Brunswick. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. 00:16:21 Celebrating Cinema 00:18:02 Box Office Top 10 00:25:00 Space Jam: A New Legacy (non) review 00:33:41 Werewolves Within review 00:39:12 Ordering Food Scene 00:41:17 Off The Rails review 00:45:12 Edgar Wright and Sparks interview 01:01:36 Here We Are review 01:05:43 North American Movie Road Trip 01:08:33 Riders of Justice review 01:12:43 Night of the Kings review 01:14:57 TV Movies of the Week 01:18:43 The World to Come review 01:23:20 Bye Bye Morons review 01:31:00 DVD of the Week Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Vanessa Kirby, The Croods 2: A New Age, The Forever Purge and Summer of Soul

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Vanessa Kirby who talks about her film The World to Come. Mark reviews animated sequel The Croods 2: A New Age; The Forever Purge, the fifth film in the American anthology media franchise; Nowhere Special, which stars James Norton as a young father searching for the perfect replacement family when he learns he only has months left to live; Questlove’s concert documentary Summer of Soul; Jean Dujardin in Deerskin and Two of Us, a drama about two retired women, Nina and Madeleine, who have been secretly in love for decades. And Mark and Simon’s North American Movie Road Trip continues into Newfoundland and Labrador. Plus for one week only, a quiz called ‘Where’s Ray?’ They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. 00:17:49 Box Office Top 10 00:42:18 Nowhere Special review 00:46:46 Vanessa Kirby interview 01:04:52 Two Of Us review 01:07:08 Ordering Food Scene 01:10:40 The Forever Purge review 01:15:21 North American Movie Road Trip 01:22:49 Summer of Soul review 01:28:02 TV Movies of the Week 01:33:24 Deerskin review 01:36:51 Where’s Ray? 01:43:29 The Croods: A New Age review 01:50:05 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Eddie Izzard, Black Widow, Tove, Truffle Hunters

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Eddie Izzard, who talks about her film Six Minutes to Midnight. Mark reviews The Truffle Hunters, about older Italian men who hunt for the rare and expensive white Alba truffle; Jason Isaacs in action sci-fi Occupation: Rainfall about survivors of an alien invasion; David Oyelowo’s The Water Man, about a boy who sets out on a quest to save his ill mother by searching for a mythic figure said to have magical healing powers, To Be Someone, a drama set in the world of the mods; Tove, about the life of Tove Jansson, creator of the Moomin books; drama Jumbo, which stars Noemie Merlant as Jeanne, a shy young woman who works in an amusement park; and the latest Marvel film Black Widow. And Mark and Simon’s North American Movie Road Trip continues into Québec. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. 00:13:23 Celebrating Cinema 00:16:27 Digital releases 00:18:08 Box Office Top 10 00:35:27 The Truffle Hunters review 00:41:46 Tove review 00:44:04 Eddie Izzard interview 00:59:36 Jumbo review 01:04:22 To Be Someone review 01:09:25 North American Movie Road Trip 01:15:01 Occupation: Rainfall review 01:21:14 The Water Man review 01:28:03 TV Movies of the Week 01:32:55 Black Widow review 01:44:52 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Vin Diesel, FF9, Freaky, Fear Street, Another Round & Cannes preview

por BBC

Ali and Robbie are joined by Vin Diesel who talks about his new film Fast and Furious 9. They will also review Nick Broomfield’s examination of the unsolved murders of hip-hop artists Biggie Smalls and Tupac Shakur; Another Round, Thomas Vinterberg’s Oscar-winning story of four secondary school teachers who consume alcohol on a daily basis to see how it affects their social and professional lives; Michelle Pfieffer as an ageing Manhattan socialite in French Exit; Vince Vaughn & Kathryn Newton as a serial killer and a schoolgirl who swap bodies; Chris Pratt in actioner The Tomorrow War; Fear Street Part 1: 1994, the first in a trilogy based on the books by R.L.Stine about a circle of teenage friends who accidentally encounter the ancient evil responsible for a series of brutal murders that have plagued their town for over 300 years; and Robbie will also preview the Cannes Film Festival and they’ll briefly review Fast and Furious 9. Ali and Robbie will also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week which this week features a Dad Joke Battle. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. 00:07:28 French Exit review 00:17:18 Celebrating Cinema 00:20:26 Digital Releases 00:25:55 Box Office Top 10 00:43:45 Last Man Standing review 00:53:51 Another Round review 01:08:42 Vin Diesel interview 01:18:11 F9 review 01:23:52 Fear Street Part 1: 1994 review 01:29:53 Cannes preview 01:34:52 Freaky review 01:41:48 TV Movies of the Week 01:46:54 The Tomorrow War review 01:56:16 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

David Oyelowo, Fast and Furious 9, Supernova and Sweat

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by David Oyelowo who talks about his forthcoming film The Water Man. Mark also reviews the latest in the automotive action series Fast and Furious 9, in which Cipher enlists the help of Jakob, Dom's younger brother, to take revenge on Dom and his team; Supernova, which stars Colin Firth as Sam, and Stanley Tucci Tusker, who has been diagnosed with dementia; The Man Standing Next, a thriller set in 1970s Korea which is under the absolute control of the president Park; Sweat, Magnus von Horn’s drama about three days in the life of fitness motivator Sylwia Zajac; Kindred, a horror/ thriller about a pregnant woman who suspects that the family of her deceased boyfriend has intentions for her unborn child; plus in the return of much loved feature Cream of the Streams, Mark reviews Fatherhood with Kevin Hart. And Mark and Simon’s North American Movie Road Trip continues into Ontario. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. 00:22:28 Celebrating Cinema 00:25:43 Digital Releases 00:27:06 Box Office Top 10 00:42:13 Kindred review 00:46:12 David Oyelowo interview 01:04:45 The Man Standing Next review 01:08:11 Fast and Furious 9 review 01:14:47 North American Movie Road Trip 01:20:42 Sweat review 01:23:52 Supernova review 01:28:33 TV Movies of the Week 01:35:35 Fatherhood review 01:41:47 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Ben Wheatley, In the Earth, Luca, Monster Hunter and The Hitman's Wife's Bodyguard

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Ben Wheatley who talks about his new film In the Earth. Mark also reviews new Disney animation Luca, about an unlikely but strong friendship between a human being and a sea monster disguised as a human on the Italian riviera; Monster Hunter from director: Paul W.S. Anderson, based on the CapCom computer game; The Reason I Jump, based on the book by Naoki Higashida, which explores the experiences of non-speaking autistic people around the world; It Must Be Heaven by Elia Suleiman; In The Heights, Jon M. Chu‘s film version of the Broadway musical in which Usnavi, a sympathetic New York bodega owner, saves every penny every day as he imagines and sings about a better life; and Ryan Reynolds, Salma Hayek, Gary Oldman, Morgan Freeman and Samuel L. Jackson in action crime comedy The Hitman's Wife's Bodyguard. Plus Mark and Simon’s Movie Road Trip continues into Manitoba. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. 00:26:48 Celebrating Cinema 00:30:33 Digital Releases 00:32:25 Box Office Top 10 00:46:37 Ben Wheatley interview 01:06:20 In The Earth review 01:13:14 In The Heights review 01:20:00 Monster Hunter review 01:26:03 North American Movie Road Trip 01:30:52 The Reason I Jump review 01:37:28 Luca review 01:42:55 The Hitman’s Wife’s Bodyguard review 01:48:28 TV Movies of the Week 01:51:55 It Must Be Heaven review 01:59:13 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Olivia Colman and Florian Zeller, The Father and Ellie and Abby and Ellie's Dead Aunt.

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Olivia Colman and Florian Zeller, star and director respectively of Oscar-winning drama The Father. Mark also reviews Bob Odenkirk’s new action thriller Nobody, about a mild-mannered bystander who intervenes in a crime; Ellie and Abby and Ellie's Dead Aunt, about a 17 year old who is struggling to find the courage to ask her classmate to an event; 69: The Saga of Danny Hernandez, a documentary about the ne'er-do-well rapper, Tekashi69, sci-fi Parallel, Ethiopian drama Running Against the Wind and another re-release of the classic Fargo. Plus Mark and Simon’s Movie Road Trip continues into Nunavut. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. 00:23:58 Celebrating Cinema 00:28:24 Digital releases 00:29:34 Box Office Top Ten 00:43:11 69: The Saga of Danny Hernandez review 00:48:02 Ellie & Abbie (& Ellie's Dead Aunt) review 00:51:51 Olivia Colman and Florian Zeller interview 01:07:42 The Father review 01:13:52 North American Movie Road Trip 01:20:22 Nobody review 01:25:39 Parallel review 01:27:57 Running Against The Wind review 01:29:03 TV Movies of the Week 01:34:52 Fargo review 01:40:50 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

John Krasinski, A Quiet Place Part II, Land, After Love and Gunda.

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by John Krasinski, who talks about his new film A Quiet Place Part II, about the Abbott family’s continued fight for survival. Other reviews include; Land, Robin Wright’s film about a bereaved woman seeks out a new life, off the grid in Wyoming; Flashback, starring Dylan O'Brien, about a man who both literally and metaphorically journeys into his past; After Love, which stars Joanna Scanlan as Mary Hussain, who suddenly finds herself a widow following the unexpected death of her husband; Gunda, a documentary looking at the daily life of a pig and its farm animal companions: two cows and a one-legged chicken, The Killing Of Two Lovers, about a man desperately trying to keep his family of six together during a separation from his wife and Shiva Baby, about a student who runs into her sugar daddy at a Jewish funeral service with her parents. Plus Mark and Simon’s Movie Road Trip continues into Saskatchewan. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 00:26:47 - TOP TEN 00:39:00 - LAND REVIEW 00:44:15 - AFTER LOVE REVIEW 00:49:12 - JOHN KRASINSKI INTERVIEW 01:03:23 - A QUIET PLACE PART II REVIEW 01:10:18 - CANADIAN ROADTRIP 01:15:21 - FLASHBACK REVIEW 01:20:36 - GUNDA REVIEW 01:23:57 - KILLING OF TWO LOVERS REVIEW 01:25:54 - TV MOVIES OF THE WEEK 01:30:32 - SHIVA BABY 01:38:33 - DVD OF THE WEEK

Emma Stone, Cruella, First Cow, The Conjuring III and Demon Slayer

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Emma Stone, who talks about her role in Disney’s Cruella, along with director Craig Gillespie. Plus your essential cinematic and streaming reviews including; frontier drama First Cow, which stars last week’s guest Toby Jones; Surge, in which Ben Whishaw plays a man who goes on a 24 hour bold and reckless journey of self-liberation; new animations Earwig And The Witch, about an orphan girl who is adopted by a witch and comes home to a house filled with mystery and magic and Demon Slayer the Movie: Mugen Train; Dinner in America, a romcom about a disaffected punk and a young woman obsessed with his band unexpectedly falling in love; Ira Sach’s Frankie, in which three generations grapple with a life-changing experience during one day of a holiday in Portugal; and The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It, the latest in the horror franchise starring Vera Farmiga and Patrick Wilson. Plus Mark and Simon’s Movie Road Trip continues into Alberta. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second instant reaction to any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk for our feature ‘Lobby Correspondents’. 00:14:48 Celebrating Cinema 00:17:22 Digital releases 00:19:34 Box Office Top Ten 00:30:50 Director of Peter Rabbit 2, Will Gluck interview 00:52:36 First Cow review 00:54:48 Dinner In America review 00:57:58 Emma Stone and Craig Gillespie interview 01:13:04 Cruella review 01:16:21 Frankie review 01:18:23 North American Movie Road Trip 01:23:35 The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It review 01:27:48 Earwig and the Witch review 01:29:49 Demon Slayer the Movie: Mugen Train review 01:31:30 TV Movies of the Week 01:36:36 Surge review 01:45:43 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Toby Jones, Peter Rabbit 2, Army of the Dead, My New York Year & Rare Beasts

por BBC

In the first show back after some UK cinemas reopened, Mark and Simon are joined by Toby Jones, who talks about his new film First Cow. Plus your essential cinematic and streaming reviews including Irritating Rabbit 2, Billie Piper’s ‘anti romcom’ Rare Beasts, which she wrote, directed and starred in, Sigourney Weaver in My New York Year, about a graduate who takes a job working for reclusive writer J.D. Salinger’s agent, Zack Snyder’s Army of the Dead about a zombie outbreak in Las Vegas, documentary The 8th, about the fight to repeal Ireland’s 8th Amendment, The Human Factor, which tells the behind-the-scenes story of America’s thirty year battle to secure peace in the Middle East and The Dog Who Wouldn't Be Quiet. As audiences return to some UK cinemas we’ll take another look at the films that are available theatrically. Plus Mark and Simon’s Movie Road Trip continues into Northwest Territories. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:19:36 Celebrating Cinema 00:20:51 Current releases 00:23:22 Box Office Top Ten! 00:31:35 Peter Rabbit 2: The Runaway review 00:40:13 The 8th review 00:42:53 My New York Year review 00:47:09 Toby Jones interview 01:03:40 Rare Beasts review 01:08:32 North American Movie Trip 01:12:05 Army of the Dead review 01:18:01 The Dog Who Wouldn’t Be Quiet review 01:20:48 TV Movies of the Week 01:24:39 The Human Factor review 01:36:09 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Sigourney Weaver, Tilda Swinton, Those Who Wish Me Dead and Oxygen

por BBC

In the last show back before cinemas reopen, Mark and Simon are joined by Sigourney Weaver, who talks about her new film My New York Year. Plus your essential streaming reviews including Taylor Sheridan’s action drama Those Who Wish Me Dead, which stars Angelina Jolie and Nicholas Hoult, Lance Oppenheim’s intriguing documentary Some Kind of Heaven, about the lives of people in a Floridian retirement village, Undergods, Oxygen (Oxygène), Alexandre Aja’s film about a woman who wakes in a cryogenic chamber with no recollection of how she got there, and Servants, about two students of a theological seminary in totalitarian Czechoslovakia. Plus there’s another chance to hear from Tilda Swinton about her new film, Pedro Almodóvar’s The Human Voice, a reworking of Jean Cocteau’s play of the same name. Our rotating and final chart is Top Five of Your Life, in which listeners share their five most treasured films. Plus Mark and Simon’s Movie Road Trip continues into Yukon. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. 00:28:06 Celebrating Cinema 00:31:58 Chart: Top 5 Films of Your Life 00:37:35 Current releases 00:41:05 Servants review 00:43:30 Sigourney Weaver interview 00:58:31 Those Who Wish Me Dead review 01:03:21 Tilda Swinton interview 01:06:00 The Human Voice review 01:09:05 North American Movie Road Trip 01:13:00 Spiral: From the Book of Saw review 01:21:01 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:25:35 Undergods review 01:28:35 TV Movies of the Week 01:30:53 Some Kind of Heaven review 01:32:30 Oxygen review 01:37:42 DVD of the Week Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Steve Zahn, Cowboys, End of Sentence, Mortal Kombat and Fried Barry

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Steve Zahn, who talks about his new film Cowboys, about a father and son’s journey through the Montana wilderness. Plus your essential streaming reviews including martial arts actioner Mortal Kombat, Christos Nikou’s Apples, about a worldwide pandemic that causes sudden amnesia, End of Sentence, with last week’s guest John Hawkes starring alongside Logan Lerman, Agnieszka Holland’s latest, Charlatan, and Fried Barry, a Shudder Original, about a drug-addled South African who is abducted by aliens. And we hear from cinema expert David Hancock about the future of movies. Plus Mark and Simon’s Movie Road Trip heads over the border into Canada. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. 00:31:31 Celebrating Cinema 00:32:14 David Hancock interview 00:43:24 Current releases 00:46:46 Apples review 00:50:49 Fried Barry review 00:53:59 Steve Zahn interview 01:08:45 Cowboys review 01:11:47 Charlatan review 01:15:45 North American Movie Road Trip 01:22:52 Mortal Kombat review 01:27:37 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:32:19 TV Movies of the Week 01:35:43 End of Sentence review 01:41:14 DVD of the Week Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

John Hawkes, Nomadland, The Mitchells vs The Machines and Wild Mountain Thyme

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by John Hawkes, who talks about his new film End of Sentence. Plus your essential streaming reviews including big Oscar winner Nomadland, Emily Blunt and Jamie Dornan as lovers in Ireland who get caught up in a family land dispute, Michael B Jordan as John Clark, a US Navy SEAL, who goes on a path to avenge his wife's murder only to find himself inside of a larger conspiracy in Tom Clancy adaptation Without Remorse. We’ll also review The Artist’s Wife, about the wife of a renowned abstract artist who is plunged into a late-life crisis when her husband is diagnosed with Alzheimer's. And The Mitchells vs. the Machines, a new science fiction comedy produced by Sony Pictures for Netflix. Our rotating chart this week is the Official Film Chart. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip concludes with Alaska and Hawaii. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:25:18 Celebrating Cinema 00:27:14 Current releases 00:29:31 Chart: Official Film Chart 00:36:41 Identifying Features review 00:42:33 Wild Mountain Thyme review 00:48:16 John Hawkes interview 01:03:55 The Mitchells vs. the Machines review 01:08:38 US Movie Road Trip 01:15:29 Nomadland review 01:22:05 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:25:00 Without Remorse review 01:26:34 TV Movies of the Week 01:30:27 The Artist’s Wife review 01:37:11 DVD of the Week Download our podcast from the BBC Snouds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Cate Blanchett, Sisters with Transistors, Stowaway and Black Bear

por BBC

Ben Bailey Smith and Anna Bogutskaya are joined by Cate Blanchett and Christos Nikou, who talk about their new film Apples, about a worldwide pandemic that causes sudden amnesia. Plus your essential streaming reviews including Black Bear, which stars Aubrey Plaza, documentary Sisters with Transistors which tells the untold story of electronic music’s female pioneers, House of Cardin, a documentary about designer Pierre Cardin which gives exclusive access to his archives and his empire, and new Homeward, in which a father and a son from a Crimean Tatar family transport the body of deceased older son and brother from Kyiv to bury him in Crimea, and Laddie: The Man Behind the Movies, about Alan Ladd Junior, the man who greenlit some of cinema's greatest hits including Star Wars, Alien, Chariots of Fire and Thelma & Louise. Our rotating chart this week is Top Fives of Your Life, in which wittertainees share their five most treasured movies. Plus Ben and Anna will be looking forward to the Oscars. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. 00:13:40 Oscars look ahead 00:20:08 Celebrating Cinema 00:26:09 Current releases 00:31:07 Chart: Top 5 Films of Your Life 00:36:40 Black Bear review 00:42:28 Cate Blanchett & Nichos Kristou interview 01:04:15 Sisters with Transistors review 01:08:27 Oscars look ahead part 2 01:15:12 House of Cardin review 01:20:18 Stowaway review 01:23:32 TV Movies of the Week 01:33:57 The Race to Save the World review 01:36:23 Laddie: The Man Behind The Movies review 01:39:39 Homeward review 01:44:22 DVD of the Week Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. . We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Aubrey Plaza, Promising Young Woman & I Blame Society

por BBC

Edith Bowman and Anna Bogutskaya are joined by Aubrey Plaza, who talks about her new film Black Bear, in which she plays a filmmaker at a creative impasse seeking solace at a rural retreat. Plus your essential streaming reviews including the new Neil Marshall film The Reckoning, about a young widow haunted by the recent suicide of her husband, The Sound of Scars, a documentary about the influential metal band Life of Agony, Emerald Fennell’s Promising Young Woman and Gillian Wallace Horvat’s I Blame Society, in which a filmmaker realises that the skill set to make a movie is the same to commit the perfect murder. Our rotating chart this week is from the week our presenter Edith Bowman joined BBC Radio 1 in 2003. Plus Edith and Anna will be looking back at the BAFTAs. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. 00:09:10 Celebrating Cinema 00:13:09 Current releases 00:17:00 Chart: 2003 00:26:25 Promising Young Woman review 00:34:09 Aubrey Plaza interview 00:53:13 The Sound of Scars review 00:56:46 The Reckoning review 01:00:50 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:03:36 True Mothers review 01:07:59 TV Movies of the Week 01:14:12 I Blame Society review 01:16:48 Steelers review 01:22:06 Valley of Souls review 01:24:10 DVD of the Week Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. Download our podcast from the Baby Sea Clowns app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Elizabeth Lo, Sound of Metal, Palm Springs and Assimilate

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Elizabeth Lo, who talks about her new movie Stray about stray dogs in Istanbul. Plus your essential streaming reviews including a 70s-set British supernatural thriller called The Power, Sci-fi horror Assimilate, Cornwall-set drama Wilderness, Andy Samberg in time-loop comedy/ fantasy Palm Springs and Riz Ahmed in Sound of Metal, who was interviewed on the show last week. Our rotating chart this week is the Official Film Chart. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through California and Oregon. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub-20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:31:06 Chart: Digital Top 10 00:40:39 The Power review 00:46:15 Elizabeth Lo interview 01:03:35 Assimilate review 01:06:10 US Movie Road Trip 01:15:07 Palm Springs Review 01:19:41 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:22:44 Sound of Metal review 01:27:26 TV MOVIE OF THE WEEK 01:31:38 A Common Crime 01:33:45 DVD OF THE WEEK Download our podcast from the BBC Sounds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Riz Ahmed, Godzilla vs Kong, Antebellum, Minari and The Mauritanian

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Riz Ahmed, who talks about his new movie The Sound of Metal, in which he plays a heavy-metal drummer whose life is thrown into freefall. Plus your essential streaming reviews including: Godzilla vs Kong, which pits two of the greatest icons in motion picture history against one another, Antebellum, in which a successful author finds herself trapped in a horrifying reality, Minari, nominated for six Oscars, about a Korean family who start a farm in 1980s Kansas, The Mauritanian, which stars Jodie Foster and Tahar Rahim in a story about a man detained and imprisoned without charge by the U.S. Government at Guantanamo Bay and Chaos Walking, an adaptation of Patrick Ness’s novel The Knife of Never Letting Go, directed by Doug Liman and starring Tom Holland and Daisy Ridley. Our rotating chart this week is the top fives of your life, in which listeners talk us through the most important films. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through Arizona, Utah and Nevada. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. 00:25::54 CELEBRATING CINEMA 00:36:16 LISTENER CHARTS - TOP FIVES 00:46:27 UNDINE REVIEW 00:49:55 CHAOS WALKING REVIEW 00:56:45 RIZ AHMED INTERVIEW 01:13:45 THE MAURITANIAN REVIEW 01:20:40 AMERICAN ROADTRIP 01:28:40 MINARI REVIEW 01:33:28 LOBBYDOWN CORRESPONDENCE 01:36:46 GODZILLA VS KONG REVIEW 01:40:11 TV MOVIES OF THE WEEK 01:44:52 ANTEBELLUM REVIEW Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. Download our podcast from the BBC Snouds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Carey Mulligan and Emerald Fennell, Tom and Jerry: The Movie

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Carey Mulligan and Emerald Fennell who talk about their forthcoming film Promising Young Woman, which has been nominated for five Oscars. Plus your essential streaming reviews including the latest cinematic adaptation of the classic Hanna-Barbera cartoon Tom and Jerry: The Movie, Ammonite, starring Saorise Ronan and Kate Winslet in a romantic drama set in 1840s England, Stray, a documentary about the world of Zeytin, a stray dog living life on the streets of Istanbul, haunted house flick The Banishing and explicit horror Violation. Our rotating chart this week is the box office top ten from this weekend in 2001. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through New Mexico, Colorado and Wyoming. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:33:11 Chart: 2001 Top 10 00:46:11 Tom and Jerry Review 00:49:21 Guest: Carey Mulligan and Emerald Fennell 01:06:40 Stray 01:09:42 US Movie Road Trip 01:15:55 Ammonite 01:19:49 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:23:04 Memories of My Father 01:26:06 TV MOVIE OF THE WEEK 01:28:01 The Banishing 01:29:42 Violation 01:34:03 Made In Italy 01:36:41 Six Minutes to Midnight 01:39:18 DVD OF THE WEEK Download our podcast from the BBC Snouds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Jodie Foster, Zack Snyder’s Justice League and Silk Road

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Jodie Foster, who talks about her new film The Mauritanian, based on the book Guantánamo Diary. Plus your essential streaming reviews including Amber & Me, a documentary about twin sisters, one of whom has Down's Syndrome, as they navigate through their first 4 years of primary school, Creation Stories, about the influential record label, and Zack Snyder’s Justice League, a longer cut of 2017’s Justice League. Our rotating chart this week is the box office top ten from last weekend in South Korea, where all cinemas are open. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through Kansas, Oklahoma and Texas. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:39:42 Chart: South Korea 00:45:48 Preparations to Be Together for an Unknown Period of Time 00:53:15 A Month of Single Frames review 00:54:53 Guest: Jodie Foster 01:10:59 Amber and Me review 01:15:32 US Movie Road Trip 01:22:20 Oleg review 01:25:02 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:29:54 Zack Snyder’s Justice League review 01:39:34 TV MOVIE OF THE WEEK 01:44:19 Silk Road review 01:46:49 Creation Stories 01:54:17 DVD OF THE WEEK Download our podcast from the BBC Snouds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Liam Neeson & Micheál Richardson, Judas and the Black Messiah, Locked Down and Cherry

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Liam Neeson and Micheál Richardson, who talk about their new film Made in Italy, about a bohemian artist who travels from London to Italy with his estranged son to sell the house he inherited from his late wife. Plus your essential streaming reviews including Judas and the Black Messiah, which stars Daniel Kaluuya and Lakeith Stanfield, about the FBI’s infiltration of The Black Panthers, crime romance Locked Down, in which a couple, played by Chiwetel Ejiofor and Anne Hathway, attempt a high-risk, high-stakes jewellery heist at a department store and Cherry, which stars Tom Holland as an Army medic suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through Iowa, South Dakota and Nebraska. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. Download our podcast from the BBC Sounds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment 00:29:46 - CHART 00:37:27 - THE COLLUMIST REVIEW 00:44:45 - LIAM NEESON AND MICHAEL RICHARDSON 01:02:46 - MOUTHPIECE REVIEW 01:08:42 - US MOVIE ROADTRIP 01:15:48 - JUDAS AND THE BLACK MESSIAH REVIEW 01:21:11 - TV MOVIES OF THE WEEK 01:24:25 - THE LITTLE THINGS REVIEW 01:26:55 - LOBBYDOWN CORRESPONDENTS 01:30:12 - LOCKED DOWN REVIEW 01:34:30 - DVD OF THE WEEK

Guy Pearce, The Last Vermeer, Raya and the Last Dragon, Moxie and Coming 2 America

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Guy Pearce who talks about his new movie The Last Vermeer, in which he stars as "Han" van Meegeren, a Dutch painter and portraitist, one of the most ingenious art forgers of the 20th century. Plus your essential streaming reviews including Raya and the Last Dragon, the new Disney animation starring Kelly Marie Tran, Awkwafina and Gemma Chan, Moxie, directed by Amy Poehler about a shy 16-year-old finding inspiration from her mother's rebellious past, and Coming 2 America, sequel to the 1988 film Coming To America. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through Louisiana, Arkansas and Missouri. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, and recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:29:34 Chart: Top Five Of Your Life 00:43:11 Moxie review 00:47:02 Guest: Guy Pearce 01:02:50 The Last Vermeer review 01:08:25 Coming 2 America 01:13:29 US Movie Roadtrip 01:18:53 Raya and the Last Dragon 01:21:54 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:24:39 Into the Darkness 01:26:52 TV MOVIE OF THE WEEK 01:30:24 The Dissident 01:34:50 DVD OF THE WEEK Download our podcast from the BBC Sounds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Sienna Miller, Wander Darkly and The United States vs Billie Holiday

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Sienna Miller, star of disorientating new movie Wander Darkly, in which she stars alongside Diego Luna as new parents Adrienne and Matteo who are forced to reckon with trauma amidst their troubled relationship, revisiting the memories of their past and unravelling haunting truths. Plus your essential streaming reviews including Lee Daniels’ biopic The United States vs Billie Holiday, the documentary Poly Styrene: I Am a Cliché about the singer of X-Ray Spex, horror Wrong Turn and Erēmīta (Anthologies). Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through Mississippi, Tennessee and Kentucky. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week and try to guess a listener’s identity by examining their streaming algorithm. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:36:32 Chart: Time Tunnel - 1991 00:42:53 Wrong Turn review 00:48:18 Algorithm review 00:51:29 Guest: Sienna Miller 01:07:24 Wander Darkly review 01:11:41 US Movie Road Trip 01:14:55 The United States vs Billie Holiday 01:19:02 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:22:09 Poly Styrene: I Am a Cliche 01:26:47 TV MOVIE OF THE WEEK 01:31:33 Erēmīta (Anthologies) review Download our podcast from the BBC Snouds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Lakeith Stanfield, I Care a Lot, Zappa and Music

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Lakeith Stanfield, who talks about his new film Judas and the Black Messiah, in which he stars as FBI informant Bill O’Neal, opposite Daniel Kaluuya as Fred Hampton, chairman of the Illinois chapter of the Black Panther Party, Plus your essential streaming reviews including Alex Winter’s documentary Zappa, Rosamund Pike as a crooked legal guardian who drains the savings of her elderly wards in I Care a Lot and Sia’s directorial debut Music, about newly sober Zu who receives news that she is to become the sole guardian of her half-sister named Music, a young girl on the autism spectrum. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through Virginia, North and South Carolina, Georgia, Florida and Alabama. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week and try to guess a listener’s identity by examining their streaming algorithm. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:34:25 Chart: Australia 00:41:22 Bad Tales Review 00:45:05 Algorithm 00:47:35 Guest: LaKeith Stanfield 01:08:38 US Road Trip 01:15:28 I Care A Lot review 01:20:09 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:23:15 Music review 01:26:41 TV MOVIE OF THE WEEK 01:30:40 Zappa 01:35:55 Stump the Guesser 01:37:15 The Twentieth Century 01:39:41 DVD OF THE WEEK Download our podcast from the BBC Sounds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment

Paul Greengrass, The News of the World, Barb and Star and Willy’s Wonderland

por BBC

Mark and Simon are joined by Paul Greengrass, who talks about his new western The News of the World, which stars Tom Hanks as a Civil War veteran who agrees to deliver a girl, taken by the Kiowa people years ago, to her aunt and uncle, against her will. Plus your essential streaming and cinema reviews including Kristen Wiig in new comedy Barb and Star and Nicolas Cage in horror thriller Willy’s Wonderland. Plus Mark and Simon’s US Movie Road Trip continues through Connecticut, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, the District of Columbia and West Virginia. They also talk you through the best and worst films on subscription-free TV next week, recommend a home entertainment purchase in DVD of the Week and try to guess a listener’s identity by examining their streaming algorithm. Send us your sub 20 second audio review of any film attached to an email to mayo@bbc.co.uk. 00:21:19 Celebrating Cinema 00:36:41 The Chart: Digital 00:41:58 Willy’s Wonderland review 00:46:55 Algorithm 00:49:11 Paul Greengrass interview 01:04:13 News of the World review 01:08:18 US Movie Road Trip 01:15:57 Barb and Star 01:19:29 Lobbydown Correspondents 01:23:10 Slalom 01:25:06 TV MOVIES OF THE WEEK 01:29:10 PVT Chat 01:31:11 Sator 01:36:16 DVD OF THE WEEK Download our podcast from the BBC Sounds app. We welcome your contributions: Email: mayo@bbc.co.uk Twitter: @wittertainment